The European Association for Solar Telescopes (EAST) was founded in 2006 by a group of research institutions from 14 European countries. Four more countries have joined since then.

The goal of EAST is to ensure access of European solar astronomers to world-class high-resolution ground-based observing facilities. In order to achieve that goal, EAST promotes the development, construction and operation of a next-generation large aperture European Solar Telescope (EST) in the Canaries. Furthermore, EAST co-ordinates the operation and scientific use of existing high-resolution optical solar telescopes on the ground in Europe, and channels efforts of its members to participate in other solar facilities such as the Daniel K. Inouye Solar Telescope. EAST facilitates access to these solar facilities also for European solar physicists who are not EAST members, encouraging their participation in EAST.

  • EAST President: Mats Carlsson (Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics, University of Oslo, Norway).
  • EAST Vice President: Oskar von der Lühe (Leibniz-Institut für Sonnenphysik, Germany). 
  • EAST Executive Director: Salvo Guglielmino (Università degli Studi di Catania, Italy).



Canarias Avanza Logo

European Solar Telescope
C/ Via Láctea s/n 38200 La Laguna, Spain

Contact: est@est-east.eu
Phone: +34 922 605 200

© Copyright EST 2020
Privacy policy

EST on Twitter EST on Twitter EST on Instagram EST on Instagram EST on LinkedIn